Tips‎ > ‎

Score Calling in Doubles

posted Jan 12, 2019, 12:47 PM by Jenn Selchow   [ updated Jan 12, 2019, 1:09 PM ]
Have you ever heard someone start a game of pickleball with "zero-zero-start"? Is this a valid way of calling the score? The short answer is no. The proper method to call the score is outlined in IFP Rule 4.J.

4.J. Calling the Score in Doubles Matches. The score is called as three numbers in doubles matches. The proper sequence for calling the score is: serving team’s score – receiving team’s score – the server number (one or two), (e.g., “zero – one – one”). To start each game, the score will be called as “zero – zero – two.”  

"Zero-zero-start" is not a valid way of calling the score, so why do some players call the score with "start"? This is an outdated method of calling the score. This was once used as a teaching tactic for new players to better understand the score calling sequence at the start of a game. New players tend to be confused when they are the first server, however they need to announce that they are the second server for their team at the start of the game.

Go play! 0-0-2!